Love and Understanding

Usually when I sit down to write something, I’m trying to write something comical in order to give the reader at least a chuckle for the day, if not a legitimate laugh.

But I don’t feel like laughing.  Not today.

Today is a day full of sadness for me, and I’m sure for anyone who has seen the news.

After hearing about the news of this tragic shooting in Newtown, Connecticut, I can’t begin to describe the sadness I feel for these innocent little children and their families.  While I don’t have children myself, I have a niece and nephew who I love as though they were mine.  When something like this happens, I can’t help but think of them and think how grateful I am to have them in my life, and how utterly devastated I would be if something like this happened to take them away from me.  I’m sure if you’re reading this and have children in your life, you know what I’m talking about.

As I hear the news and read new reports coming out, I find myself thinking about these poor, innocent children whose lives ended before they really had a chance to begin.  What hopes and dreams did their little imaginations have for their futures?  Future firemen, presidents, astronauts, artists, all having their lives ending abruptly today.  And what about their parents?  All the hopes and dreams that their son or daughter would grow up to have full happy lives facing that devastating end today.

As much as my heart aches for those little children and their families, I can’t begin to fathom the utter pain and heartache they must be going through at this moment.  The sadness, anger, hurt and a plethora of other emotions sweeping over them have to be too much to bear.  I’m sure they’re replaying their little ones life all over again in their memories, thinking back to when they were born, when they took their first steps, uttered their first word; all those milestones in life we cherish as our children grow.  They probably remember the first time they scraped their knee, cried over a small cut, felt the apprehension and fear of their first day of school, and looking into their fearful eyes and reassuring them that everything was going to be okay.  They’re probably remembering the joy their little ones experienced as well.  Those Christmases full of joy and excitement running to the tree to open their gifts, seeing what Santa brought them, playing with their friends in the playground, even things as simple as the joy on their faces as they ate a bowl of ice cream that sadly, they’ll never experience again.

For these families, there will be no Christmas this year.  There will be no joy as they sit around the table for dinner.  For these families right now, there is nothing but pain.  It’s a pain no one should ever have to bear.  Yet, as unspeakably horrible as this is, here these poor souls are having to live this nightmare.

Words cannot say how sorry I feel for those involved, and how utterly devastated I am for them.  I pray that, somehow, they can find a tiny bit of peace tonight.  I pray that, somehow, they can remember the love shared between them and their little one and hold on tight to that love.  I pray that, somehow, there is a silver lining in all this for them that they can cling to.

I also pray for all of us tonight as well.  That, even though we might have been untouched by this tragedy in our own lives, we can hold onto our loved ones extra long and extra tight tonight, knowing that they could be gone in an instant.  I pray that we can show more love to those around us, even those we sometimes find unloveable.  I pray that we all remember those little ones we lost today and their families, and say our own prayers tonight for their well-being.

As we muddle through these coming days, I’m sure various emotions of love, sympathy, anger and vengeance will all play a part in our psyche.  More information will come out, more pieces in the puzzle of why this happened will be put together and more pundits will talk about what could have been done to prevent it from happening.  Even so, let us not forget the most important thing in all this is to be there for the families of the victims, showing love to them and those around us.  In a world such as ours that is as messed up as it seems to be, it still has the hope of love.  We can’t change what has happened, but we can go from this point forward knowing our life, however long it may be, is short.  In this short span, let’s fill it with as much love and understanding for others as we can!

One thought on “Love and Understanding

  1. Thank you, Glenn, for your wonderful tribute to the lost children, their teachers and their families. I’m sure this will all come down to a dissection of the young man’s life who created this tragedy. Either he was abused, neglected, bullied or any of the other myriad labels attached to someone who brutally takes innocent lives. I’m sure he either “fell through the cracks” or some other excuse given to people who murder or kidnap or commit other crimes against mankind. But, I believe we all have a choice. This young man, whatever his “label” turns out to be, had a choice. He choose to take the lives of, first, his own Mother, then the rest of the innocents and then finally his own. Somewhere, somehow he lost the ability to make good choices, something most parents try to teach their children on a daily basis. I am in no way excusing his heinous actions. Far from it. I am appalled at yet, another school shooting. Why do they keep happening? Who is responsible? Why do our children have to live in constant fear? I don’t have the answers. But, like you, I wish for peace to the ones left behind, who will never be able to understand. Who will live with this tragedy and the loneliness, sadness and anger for the rest of their lives.
    And I will hold my child tighter and tell her more how much I love her.

Leave a Reply

