Todays Special: The Harp

When I was a child, the building that sits on the corner of 3rd and Greenfield Streets in Wilmington was a Hardees. If I remember correctly, it was the first Hardees in Wilmington, but I could be wrong about that. Through the years, many different businesses have occupied that space. Now, a restaurant called The Harp is located there, serving authentic Irish food to the hungry masses.

As you walk into The Harp, you’ll notice the staff are very laid back, and the atmosphere is quite casual. I’ve only been during lunch times, and during lunch you seat yourself wherever you’d like. It’s been my experience that the wait staff are usually very prompt in coming to your table to take your drink orders and pass out the menus. Lately, they’ve attempted a breakfast buffet during the weekend and, according to our waitress, they’re still “working the kinks out on the timing.”

images

The breakfast menu has what you would come to expect during breakfast: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, fruit, grits, etc. The lunch menu, however, is what I’ve always ordered from. They have such items in the appetizer section as Irish Potato Cakes, Scottish Smoked Salmon, Prince Edward Mussels, Carolina Crab Dip and a few other items that sound tempting. The main entrees are where I usually drift. I’ve tried their Bangers and Mash, Fish and Chips, Corned Beef and Cabbage and Reuben Sandwich. My personal favorite has been the Corned Beef and Cabbage, although there are other items on the menu I’ve yet to try. I’ve always received what I would consider a generous portion of corned beef, cabbage and mashed potatoes each time I’ve ordered this particular dish. The corned beef has always been well prepared. The cabbage, at times, might need a little salt, but that’s just my personal taste. The mashed potatoes have always been flawless.

food

The only drawback that I have seen is in the amount of wait staff. Not to say that they aren’t attentive, I’m just not sure there are enough of them, especially during times they are very busy. As I sat there during my last visit, I noticed they were running back and forth, doing the best they could to accommodate everyone while trying to get everyone’s orders correct. I wondered a couple of times if they were going to trip over each other, but thankfully, that never happened. They were busy, and they met the challenge head-on without a second thought or hearing any of them complain under their breath.

So if you’re in Wilmington and looking for a place off the beaten path for lunch with a definite Irish flare, I would highly recommend you give The Harp a try if you’re in the neighborhood. Who knows, it might become your favorite hangout!

One thought on “Todays Special: The Harp

Leave a Reply

