Todays Special: Fish Bites

Being from a beach town, I’d like to consider myself fairly knowledgeable on many of the seafood restaurants here in Wilmington, NC. Taking a look at my waistline, however, you might guess I’m more of a connoisseur of all food rather than simply being “knowledgeable,” but that’s neither here nor there. That being said, I wanted to let you know about this one place called Fish Bites that, in my humble opinion, is the best place in town to eat seafood.

fish

Tucked away in a strip mall at 6132-11 Carolina Beach Rd sits this unassuming little place David took me to once, and I have to say I was hooked from the first bite. It’s a small place you wouldn’t think twice to look for if you didn’t know it wasn’t already there. After all, I can’t count the times I’d driven by it over the years and never knew it existed. Once you eat there, however, you’ll be drawn to it like a magnet each time you might pass by.

restaurant-interior

When you walk into Fish Bites, you’ll immediately appreciate the casual atmosphere. The wait staff is incredibly friendly, as well as very attentive from the time you enter until you leave. You’ll also notice that it’s a bit on the small side, but believe me; it’s big on taste! Over the few years I’ve been going there, I’ve tried many of the items on the menu, and I’ve never been disappointed. Since I normally go during the lunch hours, many times I’ve ordered from their “basket” portion of the menu. One of my personal favorites is the Crabby Sammie Sandwich, which is a shrimp and crab cake that is served with lettuce, tomato and onion. It also comes with a Thai mayo that is simply amazing! I’ve tried many of their other dishes, and their calamari can’t be beat. My friend Claudia and I both agree that their calamari is the best in town, bar none. One thing that makes their calamari so delicious is this Thai sauce that comes on the side. You don’t want to miss that one!

180s

I’ve also had their peel-and-eat shrimp, which you can get cooked in a variety of ways. When you go, the wait staff are always happy to give you a list of the different ways they can prepare your dish. Also, their stuffed flounder is amazing as well. I can’t say enough about how good it is.

BahWEydnGkCB5d-640m

As far as the pricing, it really isn’t any more expensive than your run-of-the-mill seafood spot at the beach. To me, the food is much better than some of more expensive establishments in town, and cheaper as well. Expect to pay anywhere from $9 to $20 per person, depending on what your order, of course.

Oh, and one other thing. I would be remiss if I didn’t mention this is the only place I can remember where their list of side items also include zucchini fries. If you’ve never tried them, I’d suggest them when you visit. Maybe I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

